Alabama Colleges/Universities

Hi!

I completed Alabama today for schools that have environmentally based programs/majors like wildlife, forestry, fisheries etc. I’m pretty frustrated right now because I couldn’t figure out to get Google Documents to work like I did earlier this year with the layout of the sheet. I’ve simply grown content with what I have though. The links have been updated, degree programs, contact information…everything. I had hoped to have more states completed than this but alas…. I’m surprised not only at how long it has taken me but by how many of the sites change their pages since earlier this year (March/April). Granted I have spent a good deal of time working on the other states as well this weekend but it has been fun.

I added a new column known as MANRRS which stands for Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Related Sciences. I was involved in the student chapters of both The Wildlife Society (TWS) and MANRRS so I’ve had the best of both. The purpose of including MANRRS is for those schools which lack a TWS chapter but has another means for students to be professionally involved. It was spurred as a result of a conversation I had about two years ago at  MANRRS conference when I asked a Black American wildlife student why he wasn’t involved in TWS. His response was that he already had what he needed from MANRRS. Understandable (even if I didn’t wholly agree with his argument as a fellow wildlifer).

I hope you enjoy. Please remember this document is an adaptation from the TWS compilation of schools/universities throughout the US which carry accredited programs of study on the environment.  So don’t forget to click through to Alabama’s Colleges and Universities with Environmental Programs in Wildlife, Forestry, Fisheries, Natural Resources, Environmental Science or what have you. =)

Leave a comment