Home > Clemson, College/University, Conservation, Environmental, Natural Resources, University, Wildlife > Some Thoughts on Preparing for Post-secondary Education

Some Thoughts on Preparing for Post-secondary Education

I consider this post perhaps one of the rare cases of organized rambling that I’ll ever do, but thought it necessary as I prepare for my next real post. I completed high school in 2005, and knew only partially the process of searching for a college. You find one by checking off these areas: Major, financial, , Can I really get in this school, Level of Like, How far away do I want to be from my parents, and Big/Small population.

As a person looking to major in wildlife some of the points didn’t even register. I just wanted to find a school in my budget of $0 that would give me the education I needed pending acceptance. Honestly I only did meager research on about 5 schools and dumped all my eggs on being accepted into Clemson University since it was an instate school with my major. I honestly had no idea like I do now the number of schools in the US which had wildlife programs. I still would have went to Clemson but I definitely could have gone for having a greater knowledge of the academic system.

Currently I’m working on a document developed by The Wildlife Society of all the schools in the U.S with environmental majors: Wildlife, Fisheries, Natural Resources, Forestry, Marine, Environmental, Aquaculture, Rangeland, Conservation Biology, Ecology, and Human Dimensions. The purpose for editing the document is to update broken links, enhance how user friendly it is, give my own 2 cents on what I went through going into college and as I prepare for grad school then finally because I have a lot of time on my hands. In the end, I honestly really don’t mind doing it because it helps me look at different schools, their programs, how user friendly their websites are, the level of their programs, level of preparation for TWS certification plus some other odds and ends.

In the end this is a “Coming Soon” post to let you know I’m here; I’m just in the process of working on something that is going to take a joyful while. =)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

