Trail of Zest

**Originally penned on October 6, 2010 while walking the Augusta Canal Heritage Trail

It does not seem that I’ve upset the Cardinals too much by sitting at this picnic table. Moments before I waltzed over they were fluttering about. Now I just hear them calling at intervals above me. I’ve paused a moment to write because I find that my best thinking is not conducted in the bathroom/john/loo but outside on a trail, walking. Granted that I’m not walking now serves to contradict my earlier statement. However, my valid excuse is that my hand writing is horrible enough when I’m sitting; I’d be a fool to attempt the task while standing!

Today I’ve come to walk the trail paralleling the Augusta Canal. With the completion of my outdoor based job last Thursday, I find that I am experiencing an outdoor deficiency. Also to mention, the white walls of my apartment make me feel that I am in an asylum or prison.

So I sit here in the freedom of the outdoors pen in hand with a myriad of sounds surrounding me [from] water flowing over rocks, geese bantering, crickets chirping, leaves falling and someone striking rock against rock in an effort to make [one of the] piece[s] smaller.

I cannot criticize him for what he’s doing. I’m still shocked to see him out here: young and of Latin descent. Both of which are minorities.

I thought about that (minorities and the outdoors) even before this [very] moment today which undoubtedly adds to my continued shock. I wonder how many minorities are in Natural Resources. How many old or young, male or female, Latin, Asian, or Black [all] born here in America (another topic, another day).

I know the number is small indeed but often I feel like the only minority. I don’t know where else to go to connect with a group of diverse professionals (established or entry-level) without spending money for memberships or finding that a site is hardly used or updated even. on some levels it’s disheartening [but] on others it’s encouraging.

Encouraging like the email I received for a job interview in Louisiana. Encouraging like the career dreams that I hope can contribute, if even a little, to the enhancement of the life of people and wildlife. Simply encouraging.

So I’m thankful today that I was able to come to this trail; thankful for the thoughts transcribed and [those] still embedded in my mind. It is truly wonderful.

  1. May 6, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    You know, I’ve wondered the same thing concerning the wildlife/natural resources field and minorities. Where is everyone? I attended a natural history conference last month. I’d say there were at least 200 or so people in attendance, yet, I think I’d have been able to count the racial minorities on one hand. I wondered if anyone else there noticed.

    There are a few organizations beginning to focus part or all of their programs to encouraging minorities to experience the outdoors away from the concrete jungle. There is one in PA and I’ve heard of one in NYC. The one in NYC is using this idea to try and discourage gang violence and drug use. Still, I wonder why there is such a large difference in entry into this sort of field.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

